Event Call #1
Does Mark-Room Include Room to Tack?

Question

In a team race two dinghies are approaching a starboard-hand windward mark on starboard-tack.
B and Y are overlapped when B reaches the zone. Y luffs B from position 2 to 3 and the boats
become much closer together. When B luffs to keep clear there is immediate contact with Y at
position 4. What should the call be?
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Answer

Penalize Y. Y is required to give B mark-room under rule 18.2(a), but that does not include room
to tack when she would be fetching the mark after her tack. However, when Y luffs she is
subject to rule 16.1 and must give B room to keep clear. If B can only keep clear by tacking and
there is immediate contact, Y fails to give B room to keep clear and breaks rule 16.1. B is
compelled to break rule 13 and is exonerated under rule 43.1(a). See also TR Call B2.

However, if Y gives B enough room to keep clear by tacking and there is contact, penalize B for
breaking rule 13. When B passes head-to-wind and the boats are on opposite tacks, rule 18 no
longer applies (see rule 18.1(a)(1)).

Important notes:

1. This event call is only for umpire guidance and may be used by chief umpires in
the US only until the updated Case Book or Team Race Call Book addresses the
question about what is meant by room to round or pass a mark and leave it
astern for a boat entitled to mark-room.



Event Call #2

Mark-Room: ‘Room to Round the Mark’

Question 1

In moderate wind and seas, two starboard-tack boats SL and SW are overlapped
when the first one reaches the zone of a port-hand windward mark. The next
mark is directly downwind and the boats will have to sail on both tacks to get
there. After SL reaches position 2 close to and on the required side of the mark,
she bears away to round it at position 3 and then gybes onto port-tack. SW on
starboard-tack rounds behind and inside SL and must gybe to avoid her at
position 4. SW protests. What should the call be?
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Answer 1

Penalize SL. She breaks rule 10 with respect to SW at position 4 and is not
exonerated because she is not sailing within her entitled mark-room.

SW must give SL Mark-Room under rule 18.2(a). This includes room for a boat
to (a) sail close to the mark when her proper course is to sail close to it, (b) round
or pass it on the required side, and (c) leave it astern. Room to round the mark is
just enough space a boat needs in the existing conditions to maneuver promptly
in a seamanlike way to change onto the course needed to begin sailing the next
leg (also while complying with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule
31). When SL bears away on starboard tack at position 3 she is turning onto the
course needed to begin sailing the leeward leg. However, when she gybes, SL is
taking more room than she needs.



Question 2

Is the answer the same if the proper course to the next mark requires sailing only
on port-tack?

Answer 2

No. The space SL needs to turn onto the course to the next mark includes room
to gybe onto port-tack. SL is exonerated for her breach of rule 10.

Important notes:

1. This event call is only for umpire guidance and may be used by chief umpires in
the US only until the updated Case Book or Team Race Call Book addresses the
question about what is meant by room to round or pass a mark and leave it
astern for a boat entitled to mark-room.



Event Call #3

Mark-Room: Room to Leave the Mark Astern

Question

The definition Mark-Room is “room for a boat to (a) sail close to the mark when her
proper course is to sail close to it, (b) round or pass it on the required side, and
(c) leave it astern.” When does a boat leave the mark astern?

Answer

A boat leaves a mark astern when the mark is astern of a line abeam from
the aftermost point of her hull and equipment in normal position. However,
only when she leaves it astern after rounding or passing the mark on the
required side has she been given all of her mark-room.
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Important notes:

1. This event call is only for umpire guidance and may be used by chief umpires in
the US only until the 2024 Call Book update or 2025-2028 Team Race Call Book
is issued.

2. The 2025-2028 Case Book, when issued, may also address this question.



Event Call #5
Slam Dunk -Change to Rule 17
Question

B on starboard-tack crosses ahead of Y on port-tack and luffs into a tack. Y ducks B,
quickly luffs, and then holds course. B passes head-to-wind at position 3 and the boats
are instantly overlapped. B bears away to close-hauled between positions 4 and 5. 'Y
bears off to avoid contact and protests. What should the call be?
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Answer

Penalize B. When B passes head-to-wind at position 3, Y who has held course from
position 2, becomes instantaneously overlapped to leeward and assumes right-of-way by
B’s actions. B as windward boat is subject to rule 11 and fails to keep clear when she
bears off at position 5.

If, however, B passes head-to-wind at position 2 and Y then overlaps B from astern, Y is
subject to rule 17. Y is above her proper course (close-hauled) and will be penalized if
she does not promptly bear way to a close-hauled course.

Umpires should assume that B has not passed head-to-wind until they are certain she has.

Important note:

The draft 2025 Call Book for Team Racing is currently being considered by the World
Sailing Racing Rules Committee. This event call substantially agrees with D4 in that



draft. However, it is possible that the RRC will make changes to the draft, in which case
umpires should be guided by D4 in the updated Call Book when released.



